Ecstacy of St. Teresa

The Ecstasy of St. Teresa is is a sculpture designed by Gianlorenzo Bernini, (1598-1680) in Italy between the years 1645-52. It was built to be 11 ft 6 in. in a Baroque style made out of marble. This is a great example of Bernini’s work that helps us understand the Baroque style of artwork. He created this piece for the Cornaro Chapel of the church of Santa Maria Della Vittoria in Rome. Bernini designed the entire chapel alongside the church for the Cornaro Family which shows the influences of the royalty and wealthy during this time period. Saint Theresa is the focal point of the chapel. Some of its important features include soft white marble surrounded by a polychromatic marble framing, which works to support and hide a window that lights the statue. The statue is made in the image of Saint Theresa of Avila who was a popular saint of the Catholic Reformation. The statue represents some of her writings in which she described the love of God as piercing her heart like a burning arrow. Bernini uses the statue’s image to represent an angle who instead of plunging the arrow into her heart, is actually pulling it out and the ecstatic relief can be seen on her face. I like this piece because of its religious background and story behind it. It is also a statue, which i enjoy viewing and interpreting in its 3 dimensional aspects.

Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecstasy_of_Saint_Theresa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Ecstacy of St. Teresa

  1. Pingback: Oola’s long lost Grandmother « Road Trip

  2. Roger Simmons says:

    Now all that is needed is a cigarette and a shower.

  3. wardkendall says:

    This statue was mentioned in the novel “Angels & Demons”, from the author of “The Da Vinci Code”.

  4. M. A. says:

    “Ecstasy” is misspelled in the main head. Tch.

  5. chatroulette says:

    I visited several websites but the audio feature for
    audio songs existing at this web site is actually superb.

  6. Juliana says:

    What’s up, yup this post is actually pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

  7. chatroulette says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back frequently!

  8. hemorroides says:

    Hi there, this weekend is good in favor of me,
    because this moment i am reading this enormous educational post here at my residence.

  9. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. This kind of
    clever work and exposure! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  10. Mel says:

    I like the valuable information you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more
    here frequently. I’m fairly certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  11. Tonia says:

    Yes! Finally someone writes about fancied.

  12. hemroids says:

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads
    a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good internet
    hosting provider at a fair price? Thank you, I appreciate it!

  13. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a weblog
    web site? The account aided me a applicable deal.
    I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered shiny transparent concept

  14. What’s up colleagues, nice paragraph and nice urging commented here, I am actually enjoying by these.

  15. This paragraph will assist the internet viewers
    for creating new web site or even a blog from start to end.

  16. albawaba.Com says:

    What’s up to every , for the reason that I am really keen of reading this web site’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It carries good stuff.

  17. Since the admin of this site is working, no doubt very quickly it will be well-known, due
    to its feature contents.

  18. 1:10 PM says:

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of
    your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content
    for you personally? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web log!

  19. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back someday.
    I want to encourage continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

  20. Terrell says:

    I think the admin of this website is genuinely working
    hard in support of his site, for the reason that here every
    material is quality based information.

  21. Learn More says:

    Hey there, You have done a great job. I will definitely digg it and
    personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll
    be benefited from this web site.

  22. cystic acne says:

    We stumbled over here coming from a different page and thought
    I should check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  23. Lyda says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and
    I was curious about your situation; we have created some nice
    procedures and we are looking to trade methods with other folks, be sure to
    shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  24. hi!,I like your writing so so much! share we communicate
    extra about your article on AOL? I need an expert in this
    area to solve my problem. Maybe that is you! Taking a look ahead to peer you.

  25. chatroulette says:

    I blog frequently and I really appreciate your content.
    This article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  26. I have read so many articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers however this piece of writing is really a good article, keep it up.

  27. chatroulette says:

    First of all I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question which
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Thank you!

  28. Great article! That is the type of info that should be shared across the internet.
    Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this post higher!
    Come on over and consult with my website . Thanks =)

  29. Very soon this web site will be famous among all blogging users, due
    to it’s good articles or reviews

  30. Hello this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to
    manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  31. Thanks a ton for sharing your superb site.

  32. Follow the instructions described below for washing with vinegar.
    Our kids use our meal maker every one of the time. Worthwhile surface solution have to do the work.
    Jelly snacks inside the meal machine are good.

  33. “Great Blogpost! Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying_ your blog and look forward to new posts.”

  34. Vitamin says:

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your
    favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks http://www.facebook.com/Vitamin-Shoppe-Coupon-Codes-1880283042254350/

Leave a Reply

